Image

I remember that as a child I used to play with electric trains. Models, of course. I think I still have the power source tucked someplace.
Me and a couple of other guys in the neighborhood had tracks that our mothers allowed us to set from time to time on the table in the living room so we took turns. We all gathered at one of us, build the track and played for a while.
The gear wasn’t cheap, for sure, but not more expensive than today’s smart phones.
The important thing was that we got together, learned something about how to deal with electricity, how to put things together and how to use our toys collectively. Later I found out that that some adults never out-grow these trains and develop quite a passion for them. Some even transform this passion into a way of living.
This morning I stumbled upon this video:

Image

 

I wasn’t put off as much by its cheesy-ness, check out the struts that are holding the plane ‘aloft’ or the access door with the ‘beware of electricity’ sign as by the fact that too many children no longer build anything. Too many children don’t really play anymore, at most some of them are taken to visit places like the one described in this video and where all they can do is shoot a video of their experience using, yes, you guessed it, their smart phones.
Image